Local Government

The City of Jesup is operated under a nonpartisan Mayor/Council form, with the Mayor and five Council members elected at-large by popular vote.  The Mayor serves a 2 year term.  The Council members serve a 4 year term.  The terms of office are staggered, with two council seats filled at one election, and the other three seats filled at another election two years later.

To be eligible for election, residents must be 18 years of age and a registered voter in the City of Jesup. 

The Mayor is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the city.  It is the responsibility of the City Council to establish policies, certify the budget and formulate broad long-term policies that outline the City's public function.

Council meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month in the  Jesup City Hall Council Chambers, 791 6th Street at 7:00 p.m.  Agendas and council packets are posted for each meeting on this website and at Jesup City Hall and the Jesup Public Library within 24 hours of each meeting per Iowa Code Section 21.  Click on the names below to see more information regarding the Mayor and Council members.


Citizens Request to Address Council

This is the official website for the City of Jesup, Iowa